Firefly Lodge, Lane Cove

14 Dec

It’s those times when you open your eyes to see the digital screen on your bedside table reading 2pm, you’ve hit the snooze button so many times your alarm clock gave up and self-destructed, your only incentive to get out of bed is that you’re so hungry you’d settle for week-old meatball arrabiata (you can’t tell whether that white stuff growing on it is mould)…you get the picture. It’s those times that you wish there was just somewhere where you could grab a quick slice of quality pizza and a bowl of hot chips. That’s where Firefly Lodge comes in. From 3pm-6pm Mondays to Saturdays and 3pm-8:30pm on Sundays, you can get rustic pizzas for $16 rather than the usual $24. It used to be $10, and then half prize, but I supposed they figured since it was so popular…

Note:
1. I’d never actually eat week-old meatball arrabiata with mould growing on it.
2. This is just the scenario that I think back to when I tell myself this could have easily happened today to convince myself that I needed more lunch than I’d already had.

Part of the main plaza of Lane Cove shops, Firefly Lodge is relatively new and occupies a prominent corner position in the relatively recently-built shopping centre which houses Woolworths and adjoins to the library. It’s nice and open; you can see kids playing in the middle of the plaza while busy shoppers rush by on their way to Coles. You can choose to sit inside or outside. I went for one of the tables inside with the leather seats on one side.

crunchy salty goodness

Battered potato fries with two sauces
These are excellent. The outside is crispy, but when you bite through the crunchy outer shell, the soft potato centre is just right and isn’t too dry. They’ve also got the amount of salt perfect. These have got to be some of the best chips I’ve had (of course I say this every time I discover really great chips but for now, this is it). You can choose to dip them in aioli which has a creamy garlic taste which I really like, but if you’re more of a tomato sauce person, they have that too.

They also have their specialty: zucchini chips. These aren’t my personal favourite as I find zucchini in a chip rather bland, but if you’re looking for something unique, that’s something to try.

Rustic pizza with prosciutto, rocket and shaved parmesan
There are eight slices per pizza so there’s enough for 2-3 people to share. What makes these special is the crust doesn’t extend past the cheesy part of the pizza and that it’s so thin that it’s practically not there, the chefs certainly did a good job maximising the GOOD part of the pizza (though occasionally I do enjoy chewing on a bit of crust). The saltiness of the prosciutto and shaved parmesan work nicely together. After all, prosciutto and cheese were always meant to be.

Firefly Lodge
On the promenade,
24 Burns Bay Rd, Lane Cove
NSW, 2066
(02) 9420 1629

Food: 8
Service: 7
Ambience: 8

Firefly Lodge on Urbanspoon

Share

3 Responses to “Firefly Lodge, Lane Cove”

  1. Rita (mademoiselle délicieuse) December 14, 2011 at 11:19 PM #

    Definitely agree with you on the chips and pizzas here! Try the mushroom and truffle oil pizza if you get a chance (unless you don’t like the aroma of truffle, of course) or the wagyu sliders.

    • champagnetwilight December 16, 2011 at 1:25 AM #

      Will be defs trying those next time i’m there! (can’t resist going for the chips) thanks for the recommendations :)

  2. check this out April 5, 2012 at 12:00 PM #

    check this out hey all, I was simply checkin’ out this weblog and I actually admire the basis of the article, and have nothing to do, so if anyone want to to have an engrossing convo about it, please contact me on AIM, my identify is heather smith
    My partner and I actually loved studying this weblog submit, I was simply itching to know do you commerce featured posts? I am at all times trying to find somebody to make trades with and merely thought I would ask.
    Definitely one of the challenges which individuals beginning a new on-line firm face is that of acquiring visitors to their web site.
    Now you will have your new site and you’re keen to start making some sales! However, how are you going to make sales if you happen to do not need excessive volumes of visitors to your web site?
    Search engine optimization wants a good search engine optimizer plan. Simply one of these strategies can make an enormous distinction in your sites position and firm your web site brings you.
    Many thanks for posting this, It?s simply what I used to be researching for on bing. I?d loads comparatively hear opinions from a person, barely than an organization internet web page, that?s why I like blogs so significantly. Many thanks!
    Simply killing some in between class time on Digg and I found your article . Not normally what I prefer to examine, nevertheless it was completely value my time. Thanks.
    What i find difficult is to find a weblog that may seize me for a minute but your weblog is different. Bravo.
    I have to admit that i typically get bored to read the entire thing but i feel you’ll be able to add some value. Bravo !
    Hey – good weblog, simply looking round some blogs, appears a pretty good platform You Are using. I’m at present using Drupal for a couple of of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform very a lot the identical to yours as a trial run. Something particularly you’ll advocate about it?
    I’ve just lately began a weblog, the knowledge you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.
    Hiya clever points.. now why didn’t i think of these? Off topic barely, is that this web page pattern merely from an abnormal installation or else do you employ a customized template. I exploit a webpage i’m searching for to enhance and properly the visuals is likely one of the key things to complete on my list.
    Really like your websites particulars! Undoubtedly a wonderful offer of data that is extraordinarily helpful. Keep it up to carry publishing and that i’m gonna proceed studying by means of! Cheers.
    Congratulations on possessing definitely one of one of the vital refined blogs Ive arrive throughout in a while! Its simply wonderful how a lot you’ll be capable to take into account away from a thing principally merely because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve place collectively an incredible weblog site space –nice graphics, motion pictures, layout. This is definitely a must-see web site!
    I¡¯m delighted that I have observed this weblog. Lastly anything not a junk, which we go through incredibly frequently. The web site is lovingly serviced and saved as much as date. So it should be, thank you for sharing this with us.
    My neighbor and I were simply debating this particular topic, he is normally searching for to show me incorrect. Your view on that is nice and exactly how I really feel. I simply now mailed him this site to indicate him your individual view. After looking over your web site I guide marked and will probably be coming back to read your new posts!
    I needed to thank you for this nice read!! I positively enjoying each little little bit of it I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you submit
    This one is an inspiration personally to uncover out far more associated to this subject. I must confess your knowledge extended my sentiments in addition to I’m going to proper now take your feed to remain updated on each coming weblog posts you may presumably create. You are worthy of thanks for a job perfectly completed!
    You ought to essentially take into consideration engaged on creating this weblog into a significant authority on this market. You evidently have a grasp handle of the subjects everyone seems to be searching for on this web site in any case and you may definitely even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I would discover following current subjects and elevating the quantity of write ups you place up and I assure you’d start seeing some wonderful focused visitors in the near future. Just a thought, good luck in whatever you do!
    Thanks for taking the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love learning extra on this topic. If doable, as you gain experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with additional data? It is extremely useful for me.
    I’m nonetheless learning from you, but I’m improving myself. I definitely love studying every little thing that is written on your blog.Keep the tales coming. I liked it!
    Thanks for taking the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love learning extra on this topic. If doable, as you gain experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with additional data? It is extremely useful for me.
    I know this isn’t exactly on topic, but i have a site using the identical program as properly and i am getting troubles with my feedback displaying. is there a setting i’m missing? it’s doable you may help me out? thanx.
    Very efficiently written information. It will likely be helpful to anyone who usess it, together with myself. Sustain the great work – for positive i’ll check out extra posts.
    Highly rated post. I learn something completely new on completely different blogs everyday. Deciding on one . stimulating to read the paper content material from other writers and learn a little bit something from their website. I’d like to apply sure of this content material on my weblog you’re mind. Natually I’ll give a hyperlink right here we are at your internet-site. Respect your sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

